top of page

Meet Your YJP Executive Board 2013-2014!


Ami Doshi- Shah, Co-Chair

Jai Jinendra! I’m one of the Co-Chairs of YJP. My husband Vinay and I currently live in Jersey City, NJ. I’m proudly a Canadian citizen but I have had the opportunity to live in few different places in the past – Bombay, Boston and Toronto. Living in different cities has truly allowed me to appreciate the uniqueness and vibrancy of each culture. It has also taught me to appreciate everything we are given in life a lot more. Professionally, I work as a Project Manager/Business Analyst for NYU in Business Intelligence and Strategic Reporting area.

I have always found myself to be active with local Jain centers. I have some fairly strong beliefs and practicing Jainism has undoubtedly made a huge impact on my life. I am excited to be on the board and taking part in helping the professionals and young families incorporate Jainism into their busy daily lives. If you have any comments, ideas or questions about YJP or just want drop and line and say hello, contact me at ami.doshi@yjp.jaina.org.

Vaibhav J. Ajmera, Co-Chair

Jai Jinendra! I graduated with a B.A. in Finance/International Business from NYU’s Stern School of Business in 2004. I worked for L’Oreal in their Finance division only to leave so I could pursue an entrepreneurial venture into the DaySpa business my family had recently engaged in. It has allowed me to wear multiple hats and earn invaluable experience at a young age.

I played an active role as the Northeast Regional Coordinator for YJP from 2010-2012, focused on bringing young professionals back into the spotlight through social events, community service initiatives, conventions, and by bridging the gap between the local centers and young members. During that time, I became more in touch with JAINA, exposing me to the larger Jain diaspora and the opportunities/challenges we face. As the Co-Chair of YJP, I intend on working closely with all members to make sure we fully leverage all the resources we have in our generation to help carry the torch forward and higher, for the local, national, and international Jain community. I am truly excited about using my previous YJP and business experiences to lead YJP forward with my new Executive board. As Robert Frost said, “miles to go…” And remember, YJP is an organization for young Jain professionals by young Jain professionals. So take an active role, even if it is through an email to us with any ideas, concerns, or if you want to just say hello In my spare time, I like to spend time with my family and friends, read books, and explore new places from restaurants and cafes to actually traveling and taking a full-fledged excursion. Feel free to get in touch with me via email vaibhav.ajmera@yjp.jaina.org

Apurvi Mehta, Secretary

Jai Jinendra! My name is Apurvi Mehta and I am so excited to serve as YJP Secretary for the 2013-2015 term. I have been involved with other JAINA organizations for the past few years, including serving as YJA Director of Events for the 2010-2011 term, and the JNF Co-Lead for the 2010 YJA Convention and 2013 JAINA Convention.

I was born in Germany and raised in Long Island, NY. After attending Tufts University for college and graduating with a Bachelor degree in Psychology and Community Health (and learning to despise all Boston sports teams), I came back to NYC and graduated with a Master of Public Health degree from Columbia. I currently work for the government, and when not at work, I love hanging out with my family and friends, cooking and baking vegan meals/desserts, working out, and rooting for the NY Giants!

I look forward to hearing from you! Feel free to get in touch with me via email, Facebook, or follow me on Twitter (@apurvimehta), email: apurvi,mehta@yjp.jaina.org

Dharmang Shah, Finance

Jai Jinendra! I am thrilled to be part of the Young Jain Professional (YJP) organization. I have attended many YJA and JAINA conventions in the past while involving myself as an RA for YJA, Local Representative for Southeast Region, performing for Jains Got Talent and rapping “JWOL Motto” during Tampa YJA opening ceremony (my only 15 minutes of fame). I look forward in working with everyone in achieving milestones for YJP and Jains everywhere!

Me: I was born in Michigan City, Indiana (never been there after I was born!) but grew up in Panama City, Florida. I double majored from University of Florida in Finance and Information System & Operation Management. I am currently working as a Risk Advisory Consultant for Ernst & Young in Atlanta, GA. I also co-manage D&M Distributors (Hotel Supply Company) and recently co-found KMD Consulting Group (Hotel Consulting Company). I really enjoy creating beats, videos, performing parodies, lyrical verses, and anything relating to entertainment. I love comedy, sports, shopping, food, and hanging with friends.

Feel free to reach me via the contact information provided or by LinkedIn (which I am BIG on). I enjoy working and collaborating with others so looking forward to an awesome year with everyone.

Pooja Shah, Public Relations

Jai Jinendra! I am honored to be the Public Relations Officer for the YJP Executive Board. This is my first year being involved in YJP and I am more than excited to be a part of it. I am looking forward to a fun-filled and a fruitful year full of exciting events planned for our members.

A little about me: I was born and raised in Mumbai (India) and have always been a typical Mumbaiite until I came to Los Angeles. The journey from the city of Bollywood to the city of Hollywood was a real adventurous one and gave me a great opportunity to self- explore and help me get on my feet. I did my Bachelors of Pharmacy from India and graduated from USC with a Masters Degree in Regulatory Sciences. I am currently a full time Regulatory Affairs Associate at St. Jude Medical Inc., located in Los Angeles, CA.

Apart from being really career oriented, I love hiking, traveling, trying out different cuisines and volunteering for various non- profit organizations. Most of my weekends involve cooking delicacies, going for salsa lessons, calling friends over, helping at the Art of Living center and being a part of the Jain Center activities. I have been actively involved with the Jain Center of Southern California (JCSC) as it has been my second home in this country and has always given me strength and positive feeling while staying away from parents.

Being a part of YJP, I would like to help YJP in their goals like creating the awareness of Jain principles and heritage by promoting networking among the Jain professionals. Feel free to get in touch with me at poojajshah1989@gmail.com. Follow us on our Facebook page to get more updates.

Paras Parikh, Midwest Regional Coordinator

Jai Jinendra! I have been involved with YJP since 2008 and am looking forward to helping make YJP a strong force within the Jain community.

I was born and raised in Columbus, OH and am currently in Chicago working part-time for a biotechnology company while pursuing a graduate degree. I love playing sports and being outdoors whenever possible. I root for the San Francisco 49ers and the Phoenix Suns, which is odd since I’m from the Midwest but that’s another story. Although school and work keep me busy, I always try to make time for the things that are important in life and that will be certainly true about YJP. As a past member of YJP I have seen the importance of building a strong membership in order to help the growth of our youth and members in the professional community. With a variety of events involving professional and personal development I am hoping to help YJP become an integral part of not only the Jain community but also the Midwest. I have strong affiliations with the Jain Center of Central Ohio and the Jain Center of Greater Chicago, which I hope, will help to further develop the YJP community in the Midwest.

Naman Jain, Northeast Regional Coordinator

Jai Jinendra! I am looking forward to my role as the Northeast Regional Coordinator this year for YJP. I grew up and currently live in Boston, MA. I have attended Pathshala for most of my life and have been a youth representative for many years at the Jain Center of Greater Boston, including new initiatives in the Boston area to motivate the youth towards Jain principles with creative and fun activities. I have also been very involved with the Young Jains of America (YJA) as a past Co-Chair.

I graduated from Northeastern University with a Computer Engineering degree and work as a Field Support Engineer for Ixia in the Boston area. I believe that Jainism can be learned at the temple and through books, but also through our daily activities while having fun. Jain principles are all around us in everything we do, we just need to open our eyes and realize that it’s there.

Rupal Vora, Southeast Regional Coordinator

Jai Jinendra! I am excited to serve as the Southeast Regional Coordinator for Young Jain Professionals. I am an attorney currently living in Raleigh, North Carolina, originally from the Midwest. I have had numerous experiences with the Jain community both in the Midwest and Southeast regions as well as nationally through YJA and JAINA involvement. Most recently I have grown fond of the Jain community in the Triangle area and the Jain Study Center of North Carolina. Prior to living in the Triangle, I attended the University of Iowa, College of Law and Northwestern University for my undergraduate studies. I grew up in Des Moines, Iowa and I have loved visiting Jain centers from coast to coast!

I have always found that integrating Jain faith and culture into Western traditions is ever evolving. I most enjoy connecting with others and building positive interactions among communities. YJP is an opportunity to develop a space for those with similar interests and backgrounds to learn, grow, and connect. I look forward to contributing to community and networking opportunities for YJP in the Southeast Region! If you would like to get involved or suggest ideas for the Southeast Region, please feel free to contact me by email at rupalvvora@gmail.com.

Sheenika Shah, West Regional Coordinator

Jai Jinendra! I am excited to be representing the West region for YJP this year. I currently live in Southern California and professionally I am an attorney who decided to switch career paths and work on the digital marketing initiatives for a law firm. I’m looking forward to using my previous YJA board (Co-Chair from 2012-2013 and Director of Publications from 2008-2010) and previous Convention Committee (2010 and 2012) experiences to re-vamp YJP to be a successful professional networking organization for the Jain community.

In my free time, I love to travel to visit friends, watch TV on Hulu Plus and Netflix, and eat at every vegan restaurant possible. If you would like to see any specific events or have any new ideas for the West region, please contact me at any time at sheenikashah@yjp.jaina.org or tweet me @sheenikashah.

Shaleen Jain, Canada Regional Coordinator

Jai Jinendra! It’s my pleasure to be serving as the Canadian Regional Coordinator for YJP. I was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. I studied pharmacy at the University of Toronto and am currently working as a pharmacist in Burlington, Ontario. In my spare time I enjoy reading, spending time with family and friends and staying physically active. I have always been involved with the Jain community in Toronto. As a child, I attended Yoga camps run by Guruji (Acharya Sushil Kumar Ji ) and am now involved in continuing these camps for our youth. I believe that Jain principles can be practiced in our everyday lives. I am looking forward to being a part of the new YJP and representing Jain professionals of the true north strong and free!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page